Moving Forward

I’ve entered 2015 very strongly. About a week ago, I was hired as the editor for EN World’s EN5ider magazine, a fifth edition-compatible e-zine. I’m incredibly excited to be a part of the EN5ider team, and I can’t wait to see this publication grow into something truly amazing.

ensider.png

Almost three months ago I posted that I was creating a fifth edition-compatible adventure. Tentatively titled The Temple of Shattered Minds, it was all I focused on for the first six weeks after posting. I’m proud of the progress I’ve made and everything I’ve learned from working on it—even putting the words on paper has been an illuminating first look into the world of freelancing.

The reason I put Temple on hold was because I entered into Paizo’s annual RPG Superstar contest, which was my second look into the freelance business. The round 1 winners (“Top 32”) were announced about an hour ago, and unfortunately, I was not selected to advance. And I’m not salty about that; I played 3.5e all through high school, but I haven’t played a game of Pathfinder in my life. And what have I lost? Nothing, really. What have I gained? A little experience and the ability to keep tinkering with the neat little magic item I submitted.

What does all this mean for 2015? It means, for the next three or four months, I’m going to be throwing myself fully into EN5ider magazine; fielding article proposals, commissioning adventures, editing manuscripts, and submitting art requests. All of my side projects, like completing a new draft of Temple and brainstorming ideas for another, dream-based adventure scenario, will have to be just that: side projects.

To anyone looking to break into freelance work, please submit to EN5ider magazine! I’m fielding proposals at joeyhaeck@gmail.com. If you aren’t looking to create content, but want to support EN5ider, take a look at our Patreon and subscribe for the best fifth-edition content on the web, produced by gamers, for gamers!

 
19
Kudos
 
19
Kudos

Now read this

The Adventurer’s League calls for Writers!

The toughest part of my job as EN5ider magazine’s editor is having to turn down so much great content. Thanks to the overwhelming response from the EN World community (and the online RPG community at large), I’ve had my hands full trying... Continue →